The American-t Dream

Lee Greenwood: I’m proud to be an American, where at least I know I’m free

… and not much else. You know, that line has always resonated with me. In the opening line of the chorus of the most overplayed Independence Day fireworks background music ever known, the best we can come up with for why we’re proud to be Americans is because “at least” we know we’re free. Well isn’t that just spectacular. Know who else is?  Let’s take a look, courtesy of Freedom House:

freedome

Just to name a few: Canada, South Africa, India, Mongolia, Ghana, Chile, Argentina, UK, France, Italy, New Zealand… you can do the rest. I’d like to rewrite that famous line.

And I’m proud to be an American, where at least I know I’m as free as 46% of the rest of the planet.

Now, I know some of the naysayers will immediately say, “Well we’re MORE FREE than they are!” Okay. Fine Jimbob. Just how free are we these days? Well, George Carlin – one of my favorites – knew the answer better than anyone (NSFW – profanity).

The table is tilted folks. The game is rigged. And nobody seems to notice, nobody seems to care. Good, honest, hardworking people – white collar, blue collar – doesn’t matter what color shirt you have on. Good, honest, hardworking people… continue to elect these rich ********ers that don’t give a **** about them… It’s called the American Dream… because you have to be asleep to believe it.

Maybe it’s time we all woke up a little.

Cheers,

TP

Leave a Reply

